Althea Bleekman aka Alfie

Click here to read my latest posts (coming soon)

Hi everyone!

My name is Althea (Alfie) Bleekman, I'm 21 years old and I'm an event rider!

I have been riding for pretty much as long as I can remember and I'm told had my first pony by the time I was two!

Riding is now, and always has been a huge part of my family life. My grandparents handed their love of the horse down to my mum (Clissy Bleekman) who has ridden up to 4* and in particular has an incredible record at Badminton. She also competed in numerous teams for Great Britain, her major achievement without doubt winning Team Gold at the World Championships in Gawler - Australia!!

My Dad is a Dutch man who also rode competitively when he was younger. But he later decided to concentrate more on the breeding side of things, and he’s pretty good at it..my sister and I now compete on a good team of home bred horses.

I have two younger sisters - Katie and Janou. Both have ridden from the beginning like me, and while Katie is currently taking a break from riding, Janou is as keen as ever.

The three of us have all ridden for Great Britain in the Pony European Championships winning one Bronze Team medal and two Silver team medals.

Due to our dual nationality (thanks Mum and Dad!) we have always had the option to ride for Holland as well as GBR. I made the decision over the winter of 2011/12 to change to ride for Holland and Janou followed later. It was a tough decision, but I couldn't be happier now. Holland has always meant a huge amount to us and I actually have some Dutch owners so it was a sensible move.

I am based in the UK at our family home in Devon, my Mum has lived here since she was two years old and she did all of her competing from here. It may not be the most modern of yards, but it’s practical and has everything we need!

So that’s me... hope to keep you all updated on the remainder of my season and fingers crossed for some good results!

Alfie x

Click here to read my latest posts