New Zealand High Performance Squads - February 2019

      Amanda Pottinger moves up to the High Performance Futures Squad


The New Zealand eventing selectors have announced the 2019 ESNZ Eventing High Performance Squads, to be reviewed on a six-monthly basis leading up to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games

Clarke Johnstone and Balmoral Sensation remain the only New Zealand based combination on the High Performance Squad along with three UK based riders and their various horses; Sir Mark Todd with NZB Campino, Leonidas II, Kiltubrid Rhapsody and McClaren, Tim Price with Ringwood Sky Boy and Bango and Jonelle Price with Classic Moet and Faerie Dianimo.  

Tim also has horses Xavier Faer and Ascona M on the High Performance Futures Squad. Amanda Pottinger and Just Kidding, who finished second in the CCI4* in Adelaide in 2018, have made the step up to the squad along with Dan Jocelyn on Grovine de Reve, Caroline Powell with On the Brash, Jesse Campbell on Amsterdam 21 and Blyth Tait aboard Havanna.

The High Performance Potential Squad (previously known as the Future Potential Recognition squad) features new members Hayley Frielick (based in Australia), Monica Oakley and Abby Lawrence, who join James Avery, Samantha Lissington (nee Felton), Ginny Thompson, Joe Meyer, Nick Brooks, Donna Edwards-Smith and Bundy Philpott.

The Performance Squads – the Talent Development and Talent Identification squads – were announced earlier in the year.


 High Performance Squad




Clarke Johnstone   

Balmoral Sensation

Johnstone Family

Jonelle Price

Classic Moet

Trisha Rickards and Jonelle Price

Jonelle Price

Faerie Dianimo

Trisha Rickards and Jonelle Price

Sir Mark Todd

NZB Campino

New Zealand Bloodstock and Sir Mark Todd

Sir Mark Todd

Leonidas II

Diane Brunsden, Peter Cattell and Sir Mark Todd

Sir Mark Todd

Kiltubrid Rhapsody

Dr Elizabeth Donald & Niki Ryan

Sir Mark Todd


David and Katherine Thomson

Tim Price

Ringwood Sky Boy

Robert Taylor, Varenna Allen, Tim Price


Tim Price


Numero Uno Syndicate



High Performance Futures Squad




Amanda Pottinger

Just Kidding

The Pottinger Family

Blyth Tait


Katherine Corich, Jane Lovell-Smith,

John Ormiston

Dan Jocelyn

Grovine de Reve

Therese Miller, Jo Preston-Hunt, Philip Hunt

and Dan Jocelyn

Caroline Powell

On The Brash

Sarah Tobey and Sue Smiley

Jesse Campbell

Amsterdam 21

Gary and Linda Harding

Tim Price

Xavier Faer

Trisha Rickards, Nigella Hall and Tim Price

Tim Price

Ascona M

Suzanne Houchin, Lucy and Ben Sangster

and Sir Peter Vela


High Performance Potential Squad

Abby Lawrence
Buddy Philpott
Donna Edwards-Smith
Ginny Thompson (UK)
Hayley Frielick (Australia)
James Avery (UK)
Joe Meyer (USA)
Monica Oakley
Nick Brooks
Samantha Lissington (nee Felton)