New Zealand Teams announced for Oceania Championships 2024

Charlotte Penny (NZL) rides Festival during the Cross Country for the CCI4* - L eventing class at 2023 Puhinui International 3 Day Event at Puhinui Reserve, Auckland | An Eventful Life
Charlotte Penny and Festival at 2023 Puhinui International 3 Day Event 

ESNZ has announced the senior and young rider eventing teams to contest the Oceania Eventing Championships at the Land Rover Horse of the Year Show, taking place from 8th – 10th March, in Hastings, New Zealand.

Olympic hopeful Maddy Seivwright and Waitangi Pinterest will spearhead the New Zealand CCI4*-S Senior team, joining Charlotte Penny riding Festival, Christen Lane on Bellhaven Cumbria and Donna Edwards-Smith with DSE Henton for Glory.

The CCI3*-S Young Rider team comprises Bridie Quigley on Oranna Grayson, Mackenzie Marlo aboard CHS Diplomat, Mia Gilbert on Schnapps MH and Scout Lodder with Overnight Success.

It is three years since the Horse of the Year Show has been held, with last year’s show and Oceania Championships cancelled due to weather conditions. Prior to that, the hotly contested Championships between Australia and New Zealand were held at the 2022 Melbourne International Three Day Event in Australia, where Australia won the Senior Championship and New Zealand the Young Rider Championship.

“We are expecting the Chris Ross tracks to be a real test at both levels,” said ESNZ General Manager High Performance, Jock Paget “The opportunity to compete for New Zealand in this championship is a real privilege for our Southern Hemisphere combinations and a great way to condition themselves for future championship representation.

We have a great support team for these riders with a lot of international experience. We are all looking forward to getting back to the atmosphere at LRHOY and experiencing this competition after such a long wait.”

New Zealand Senior Eventing Team Oceania 2024

Charlotte Penny (Auckland) riding Festival, Christen Lane (Hawke’s Bay) and Bellhaven Cumbria, Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata) riding DSE Henton for Glory and Maddy Seivwright (Cambridge) riding Waitangi Pinterest.

Reserves: Brittany Fowler (Cambridge) riding Game Keeper, Charlotte Edwards (Wellington) on Just de Manzana, Diane Gilder (Auckland) riding Your Attorney, Donna Edwards-Smith (Te Kauwhata) on DSE Mendoza and Sofie Boswell (Auckland) on Anastasia.

New Zealand Young Rider Eventing Team Oceania 2024

Bridie Quigley (Coatesville) riding Oranna Grayson, Mackenzie Marlo (Auckland ) riding CHS Diplomat, Mia Gilbert riding (Auckland) Schnapps MH, Scout Lodder (Ararimu) riding Overnight Success.

Reserves: Scout Lodder (Ararimu) riding Kingsguard and Holly McInnes (Palmerston North) riding My Royal Spirit.

The Australian team announcement can be seen here