Makayla Wood

Click here for my latest posts

Unlike a lot of horse people, my family background isn’t entirely horses! Mum is ‘the one to blame’ for our equestrian addiction. When she was young she decided that she wanted a horse – so she saved up and bought an old standardbred that several years later down the track was the horse that I sat on at around 3 years old. From then on she dabbed in show-horse with her successful TB gelding and now has a super adult riders Warmblood.

I grew up on two acres with my dad, mum and twin sisters – Samantha and Tara, in the town of Byford – Perth, WA. As a family we started in Pony Club and I really only got the eventing bug from my Galloway – Giselle. As a kid I was absolutely terrified of jumping and used to cry as my pony walk over fences. I started EWA eventing at around age 13 and haven’t really looked back since … although I can’t remember what stopped the walking and crying!

I am now 20 years old and based on 10 acres in Cardup, WA. I love my home and it isn’t as dusty as most people think! My horses include Just Corona (aka Trumpet) who is my current National Youth Elite Eventing squad horse. He is a seasoned 2* competitor and this year I hope to have some successful 3*runs. Then there is Grand Elevation (aka Syd) who is also 2* and lastly the new Tasmanian mare to join my team is Early Days (aka Daisy) who I would like to have going 1* this year. As a family we own Here Comes Murphy (Murph) who is currently being campaigned by coach and mentor – Deon Stokes, and will also be going 1* this year. On the property we also have mum’s adult rider horse, retired eventer Mc Arthur, retired Galloway Giselle and the pony Ned Kelly who I use for teaching riding lessons and is also part leased by the Campbell family. Over the past few years my sisters have unfortunately given up riding so it is mainly Mum and I who do the horses. However events are still a bit of a family affair as dad is quite involved now in the cross country side of a few different courses and Sam and Tara are ever supportive.

My ‘proper’ job (which unfortunately isn’t horses!) is working part-time at Fox United Building. I’m in office administration and do enjoy it and the hours I work give me time to work horses before and after, and teach my riding lessons. I’m about half way through my NCAS Level 1 and one day I would like to become a full time rider and coach.

I am very appreciative of my current sponsors; Fox United Building, Southern Stars Saddlery and Spooks Riding Australia and am looking forward to hopefully another successful year!

Click here for my latest posts