2018 FEI Elections

"I care passionately about the sport of eventing" says William Fox-Pitt, one of the top contenders for the role of Eventing Athlete Representative


Ingmar De Vos, FEI President since 2014, is the sole candidate for this year’s Presidential election, which takes place at the FEI General Assembly in Bahrain’s capital Manama on 20 November.

It is the first time since 2002 that there has been an uncontested election for the FEI’s top role. The FEI Presidential term is four years, with the possibility of re-election for up to three consecutive terms for a maximum term of 12 years in office.

A total of 52 athletes from 26 countries on five continents will also be standing for election as Athlete Representatives for the FEI’s eight Committees for the Olympic sports

The Athlete Representative online voting process will open on 29 July. Athletes over 18, who have competed in one of the last two senior FEI World Championships, Olympic Games or Paralympic Games can vote for an athlete in the same sport as themselves and have until the last day of the FEI World Equestrian Games™ (23 September) to do so.

To be eligible as a candidate, athletes must have a clean anti-doping record since April 2010 when the new FEI anti-doping system came into effect. The elected Athlete Representatives will be announced on 24 September.   

The Athlete Representatives, who are members of their own discipline-specific Technical Committee, also form the Athletes Committee. The Chair of the Athletes Committee, who is nominated by the President, automatically takes a seat on the FEI Executive Board.

10 athletes have put their hats into the ring for the position of Eventing Athlete Representative;

Ms Patrizia Attinger (SUI)

Ms Merel Blom (NED)

Ms Susanna Bordone (ITA)

Mr William Fox-Pitt (GBR)

Mr Niklas Lindbäck (SWE)

Mr Carlos Parro (BRA)

Mr Ludvig Svennerstal (SWE)

Mr Peter Thomsen (GER)

Mr Sam Watson (IRL)

Mr Nicolas Wettstein (ECU)

You can read the CV and letter of motivation for each athlete here.